Happy Halloween

Sometimes I still get to write a slice of life story that still meets our marketing messages.

Here’s a fun Halloween story I wrote on how Frostburg State Recreation and Parks Management majors were in charge of the city’s Halloween Party. I also shot and edited a video, wrote the script and had our intern Emily Michael do the voiceover.

10/28/2016

Frostburg State Students Treat Children to Halloween Tricks With Annual Town Party

Someone has to be responsible for keeping little goblins occupied during Halloween.

Frostburg State University recreation and parks management majors take on that duty by organizing the Halloween Party at City Place in Frostburg, giving the students practical hands-on experience while providing local children some spooky fun.

This year, students Rashaan Rhoden and Jeremy Pearson led the effort organizing the party, held Thursday, Oct. 27, working with the City of Frostburg’s Parks and Recreation Department.

“They have their parade and they have their trick or treating, but this is something a bit more special where they get their haunted house experience and be a little frightened,” said Pearson, a Boonsboro resident who also earned his associate’s degree in Adventure Sports from Garrett College.

Finding ways to keep kids entertained with some not-as-frightening Halloween activities gave Rhoden leadership opportunities that brought him out of his shell. He said that the Recreation Leadership and Program Planning courses within his major aided his growth.

“When I tell my mom I’m helping directing a program for the City of Frostburg, she’s so happy for me because I wasn’t like that when I first came here. I liked to stay to myself,” Rhoden said. “That’s the whole point of being in Recreation and Parks: You get out of your comfort zone. That’s why I love the teachers in it. Planning programs like this makes me happy. I recommend it for anybody.”

Halloween is a favorite for both Rhoden and Pearson. It’s doubly special for Rhoden since it falls near his birthday.

“Since my birthday is the 30th, the day before, I’m psyched for Halloween,” said the Cambridge resident, who turns 21 this year. “When I was a little kid, I just loved dressing up. One of my favorites was Batman because who doesn’t love Batman as a kid?”

Pearson led the design of the Haunted House to add a scary element, taking pride in creating fun ways to spook little ones and teenagers.

“I just like the idea that I actually am doing something for people in this town, breaking up their evening a little bit, makes them a little bit happier,” he said.

The Delta Zeta sorority and FSU rugby club team also helped out. The involvement of FSU students makes the town event special, said Brian Vought, director of the City of Frostburg Parks and Recreation Department, because the city couldn’t do an event like this without student volunteers, and the students gain invaluable leadership experience.  

“It certainly helps us out,” said Vought, who is also an adjunct instructor at FSU. “It gives them a chance to manage and oversee the whole event with a little bit of supervision from me and FSU Recreation and Parks Management Professor Dr. Diane Blankenship.”

For more information about FSU’s Recreation and Parks Management program, visit www.frostburg.edu/home/academic/majorminors/bachelor/bachelor-in-recreation-and-parks-management.

Situated in the mountains of Allegany County, Frostburg State University is one of the 12 institutions of the University System of Maryland. FSU is a comprehensive, residential regional university and serves as an educational and cultural center for Western Maryland. For more information, visit www.frostburg.edu or facebook.com/frostburgstateuniversity. Follow FSU on Twitter @frostburgstate.

(Article written by Charles Schelle)

Leave a Reply

